The Fantastic Four

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

The NCAA Women’s Final Four earned its place on the sporting map long ago, but this year’s event seemed to secure an even greater […]

A Stadium’s Shelf Life

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

The announcement by Major League Baseball’s Texas Rangers that they would be leaving Globe Life Park, which opened in 1994, for a new stadium […]

To Live in Their Times

Friday, March 3, 2017

In his eloquent eulogy at Muhammad Ali’s funeral last year, Billy Crystal said: “To live in his time, watching his fights, experiencing the genius […]

A More Perfect Union

Saturday, February 4, 2017

Like many Americans on January 20, I was fixated on the pageantry of Inauguration Day. There is powerful symbolism in bringing all the characters—outgoing […]

The Power of Presence

Tuesday, January 3, 2017

Many religious teachings advocate the lessons, and even the blessings, that can come from adversity. So it was that, in the shadow of Christ […]

More Baseball, Less Politics

Friday, December 2, 2016

One of the signature stand-up routines of the late comedian George Carlin involved comparing the violent nature of football with the more pastoral nature […]

The Am I Am

Friday, November 4, 2016

What would you think if you were an NFL quarterback playing on the road, trying to get the feel of an unfamiliar stadium, and […]

The Youth of the World

Monday, September 12, 2016

Just like the stages of grief, an Olympiad seems to go through four phases before, during and after the Games: anxiousness, pessimism, exhilaration and […]

Good, Bad and Ugly

Friday, August 5, 2016

Like any rabid fan, I tend to take a romantic view of sports—that the most deserving team or player will win, that the playing […]

The Accidental Cyclist

Friday, July 1, 2016

The offer was one that I could not refuse. I would be joining a group of approximately 15 amateur cyclists, each having something to […]